Home > Uncategorized > An interlude: My story con’t

An interlude: My story con’t

And then there’s me.

In August of 2008, I had been on a low carb diet about a year and a half and on a Paleo-type diet for a little over 6 months. I was recovering from a year of Weight Watchers and chronic cardio which left my body an inflamed mess with high blood pressure and elevated triglycerides.

On Paleo, everything was going swimmingly: I was losing weight, improving my blood pressure and lipid profiles, and had bloodwork results that a lab tech called “textbook.”

Then I discovered intermittent fasting. I started with alternate day fasting, cut down to one or two 24-hour fasts a week, and leveled out at a daily eating window of 8-10 hours. That’s when I really started to lose body fat. But the vanished weight was quickly followed by my ability to menstruate, regulate my body temperature, and generally deal with life.

I tried to fix myself by interpreting the tea leaves of the internet. This led me to stop the intermittent fasting and increase my caloric intake. The result: I gained fat weight but failed to lose my symptoms. I began to think things like “If I have to spend the rest of my life feeling like this, then it isn’t worth it.” I started looking forward to the death of my parents, because then I would be free to end it all for myself without ruining anyone else’s life.

I ate handfuls of supplements. I read all the books you’re supposed to. I stopped exercising altogether. I ate grass fed meat, coconut oil, butter from grassfed cows, salads, berries, and free range eggs. I obsessed. Finally, I paid an out of state naturopath to advise me. He advised iodine supplementation (50 mg daily) and vitamin D (5000 IU daily) for three months. So far, I have completed one month.

  1. Matthias
    January 9, 2010 at 3:04 pm | #1

    Aww, man.
    First of all, thanks for mentioning me the last post.

    Your story sounds very similar to mine and so I pretty much know what you are going through, or at least I think.
    Last summer I was really in the worst condition I’ve ever been, went to the hospital because I was diagnosed with Lyme disease, felt really terrible, had immense crying attacks at times and generally was totally fucked up. Now, of course it would be easy to blame the Lyme disease for all that, but I never believed that and I still don’t. So I did the same stuff you did, tried to fix myself through the internet and with all kinds of supplements. The internet is quite good at leading you to believe that X or Y might be your problem even though it probably isn’t, but on the other hand I believe, that if you really want to find out the truth about something, the internet is the best, maybe even the only way to do so. It’s really a double-edged sword.

    And while I’m not really sure whether we really have the same issue going on, I can still offer you some advice will comment on your posts whenever I think there might be something off or wrong or whatever.
    At the moment, I’m quite sure what’s going on with me and it pretty much falls in line with Matt from 180degreehealth has to say. I’m quite sure that going low-carb messed up my metabolism and hormonal balance (your naturopath also seems to think that there might be some hormonal inbalance with you, or at least that’s what I think when I see that he advises you taking iodina and vitamin d). So I ditched low-carb, started eating stuff like potatoes again and so far things seem to develop in a positive direction. I can’t really say whether I’ve really found the solution to my problems and I certainly can’t say whether it would help you aswell. But I guess as time passes, I’ll find out and perhaps I’ll can then share some insights with you that might help you aswell.

    • commutergrrl
      January 9, 2010 at 4:31 pm | #2

      Matthias, I welcome your insights and support. Matt Stone writes some compelling things, which I’m definitely considering. Your story as related by your Twitter stream inspired me to write these posts. Thanks for that! Good luck, and definitely keep me posted!

  2. January 30, 2010 at 10:38 pm | #3

    Hey, this totally echoes some of my experience, except I had the same problems when I was raw vegan, not paleo. With paleo I got better, but then I started feeling low in energy again. Upping the fat, lowering the protein, eating seaweed and fermented foods, and taking vitamin D have made a biiiiiiiiiig difference. I even…gasp…eat tubers and some fermented legumes now!

    I think it’s about letting go of the purity complex that is so embedded in diets like raw veganism and paleo. What is worse? Depriving yourself and binging or planning out a diet that’s not perfect, but which satisfies you? I’m a member of the NYC paleo meetup, but I’m also a member of the local Weston A. Price chapter and that has really opened my mind to the importance of fatty fat fat flavored fat and eating things like fermented foods and bone marrow. I think bacteria= happiness (http://www.medicalnewstoday.com/articles/66840.php) and our urban environment and childhood diets don’t provide us with enough of the beneficial kind.

    IF personally puts me in a pretty bad mood and I definitely don’t do it very much anymore for the sake of the people I know!

    I pretty much ignore carb counts and don’t consider myself a low carber either.

    • commutergrrl
      January 31, 2010 at 10:39 am | #4

      Thanks for stopping by! I just joined the local WAPF chapter and also a local buying club, which I’m totally psyched about. I’m trying to ferment kombucha as I type, but with minimal success. (Too cold? It’s -7 C out there!) Weird parts of my head tell me I shouldn’t be satisfied with 20% body fat, and that I definitely need IF to get leaner. And yet I doubt that will actually make me happier. Well, where would I be without my stupid issues?

  3. Suzanna Wren
    March 2, 2010 at 10:22 am | #5

    I am so sorry you were so miserable and we never were able to help you. I knew you were unhappy but I was unable to get through and I also was distracted. I’ve been reading how you have used your fine mind to find your way. I am grateful that the cynical part of you will question a theory and not accept it whole. When I first read your blog Silent Evidence I was desvasted. Certain phrases came out at me and exploded inside me. I’ve taken a second look and realize the blog works backwards in terms of time. Now I am optimistic. I love you. We love you. Maybe you could do 2 things . Gently explain fermenting Kombucha. If you don’t do it right will it be filled with bacteria? The second thing is that you could tell us about the Lazer. I know you researched it and you are being careful. You can take your time telling us. But please eventually tell us. We love you and if we fuss it’s because we love you and we all fear unfamiliar things.

  4. janie
    December 20, 2010 at 1:18 am | #6

    Wow, are you writing a screenplay on me? “I started looking forward to the death of my parents, because then I would be free to end it all for myself without ruining anyone else’s life.” I feel horrible but so many times I’ve felt the same thing….thanks for sharing. I don’t have the courage to put it all out there as you do and I hope you know there’s many of us out there that take solace in your blog. :)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

