Home > Uncategorized > The miseducation of me

The miseducation of me

I read somewhere that the screenplay for Spider-Man 2 was written by Pulitzer Prize-winning novelist Michael Chabon. I’m not quite sure what to make of this. Remember the God-awful dialogue of the first Spider-Man movie? (“Sometimes, I’m scared, but sometimes I’m happy, and sometimes I shoot webs from my hands…”) To be sure, I could figure out some justification having to do with story trajectory, economy of language, dynamic imagery, and the immense cultural impact of comic books. But I won’t. Well, “Write what you love,” they say.

I remember reading the short story “After I was Thrown in the River and Before I Drowned” by Dave Eggers. I’ve never read his novels, but the short story stays with me. A dead dog recounts his last moments, and then some. By the end of the story, he has seen God, who is the sun. (Of course! How simple! And all is right with the world.) It was reassuring, if wistful.

Not being a dog, I can’t bring myself to worship the sun. And yet I wish I could.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

