Home > Uncategorized > Read it and weep…

Read it and weep…

Finished reading Augusten Burroughs’ Running With Scissors, the memoir of his crazy adolescence living with his mother’s psychiatrist. I found the “story” refreshing in comparison to his alcoholism memoir Dry. It’s a bad sign when you’re jaded with addiction memoirs. I feel that their authors should have the right to slap me for my lack of interest in their very real suffering. Not that they aren’t exploiting themselves, but as a consumer/co-exploiter, I do share some responsibility for the glut of substance abuse lit and deserve to be hit with a shovel.

I really did love the writing in both books, though, much more than anything by David Sedaris. So shoot me, New York Times Best-Sellers List maker-upper-people.

Also: I’ve taken to using my Riverside Shakespeare as a step for achilles tendon stretches.

When I’m not studying Henry VI, Part I, of course.

Actually, I prefer borrowing the paperbacks of Shakespeare’s work from the NYPL. They’re lighter and more portable.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

