Home > Uncategorized > A minor miracle, of sorts

A minor miracle, of sorts

For some reason, I thought that Jeanette Winterson committed suicide a few years back, closely following the publication of The Powerbook. For years, I would visit the W section of bookstores and feel sad that I would never again look forward to a new Winterson book.

Well, it turns out that you shouldn’t believe everything you read on the internet. I was in a doctor’s office, thumbing through The New Yorker (I know it sounds awfully pretentious, but I only really look at cosmetics ads, movie reviews, and cartoons), and there was an ad for her brand new book, Lighthousekeeping. A quick Google search reveals an official website, a current North American tour, and recent photos. And so the dead come back to life. And bring to us, today at least, a little more joy.

“The not of you is unbearable. I must have you. Let them prate, those scorn-eyed anti-romantics. Love is not the oil and I am not the machine. Love is you and here I am. Now.” – Jeanette Winterson, “The Poetics of Sex”

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

