Home > Uncategorized > It was only a matter of time…

It was only a matter of time…

Of course, they are making a “Nightmare on Elm Street” remake.

“Elm Street,” to me, is the ridiculous slasher equivalent of “Sixteen Candles.” It came at the right time and place to resonate with my brain for reasons that are not even remotely based on logic. I’m not necessarily a slasher fan. I haven’t seen any of the “Friday the Thirteenth” movies or any of the “Halloweens,” but I have seen every “Nightmare on Elm Street” at least once (even the disappointing second installment, “Freddy’s Revenge,” referenced in DJ Jazzy Jeff & The Fresh Prince’s “Nightmare on My Steet”).

When I was 11 or so I wrote a (horrible) “Nightmare on Elm Street” play that was performed by my friends for the capitive audience of our summer camp. Ah, memories.

As they say, you can’t go home again. I don’t love the original movies because they are actually good, but it’s amusing to remember reading all those Fangoria magazines back when I was but a wee slip of a lass.

Also, now that there is going to be a “Spider-Man” musical, I’m going to push for a “Nightmare on Elm Street” musical as well as a “Breakfast Club” musical. Obviously, they would be horrible, but I’m a contrary sort of person.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

