Home > Uncategorized > Nutella? I barely knew… D’oh. That doesn’t work at all, does it?

Nutella? I barely knew… D’oh. That doesn’t work at all, does it?

My parents never heard of Nutella before today. They were clued in by Giada De Laurentiis, who was making some sort of dessert pizza on her Food Network show. My parents were taken aback and somewhat appalled.

Giada regaled viewers with tales of the Nutella sandwiches of her childhood. The equivalent of a culinary car wreck, the idea was too perversely compelling for my parents to ignore. “Child abuse!” they cried. And they couldn’t fathom what kind of bread could be used to make such a thing. Not Triscuits, surely. Not matzo, and not whole wheat. (Note: If I were in the habit of eating bread, grain products, or sugar, I wouldn’t refuse a Nutellaed slice of whole wheat bread.) Cinnamon raisin, perhaps? they wondered. (Me: “Meh.”) Finally, they settled on toasted pound cake slices or challah.

Personally, I would so go the toasted baguette route. In the old days, of course.

As it is, there is a recipe for a healthier chocolate hazelnut spread on this site. And it would probably be delectable on some hot coconut griddle cakes. I’m just sayin’.

Heh! It’s obvious my parents are not of a generation that could take a pint of Ben & Jerry’s Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough and call it dinner. More power to them! And they will never understand.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

