Home > Uncategorized > The glass is at 50% capacity

The glass is at 50% capacity

In the past few months, I’ve been to Avenue Q, a Katy Perry concert, and The 39 Steps (which I thoroughly enjoyed and recommend). I’ve been to Nobu 57 on a failed date. I’ve been to a meditation seminar in which all the speakers (white, middle class) seemed to have (kind of creepily) taken Sanskrit (?) names. I’ve had a peanut butter, banana, and bacon sandwich at the Peanut Butter & Co. sandwich shop in the Village (awesome!). I’ve compared Magnolia Bakery cupcakes with Crumbs Bakeshop cupcakes. (It’s still tastier if you make your own, even from a mix. Caveat: you must whip or make your own frosting out of real butter, cream cheese, nut butter, chocolate or other natural ingredients. Frosting out of a can just tastes awful.)

I started a happiness journal but gave up in a fit of angst when I consistently dug up only two happy things to write about each day. On the bright side, I took some happiness tests at the authentic happiness site that told me while I am pessimistic about positive events, I am also optimistic about negative events. It’s a draw! I went to the Jekyll & Hyde club for lunch with a coworker (NOT my idea) and was depressed out of my head by the unsuccessful actors working the lunch shift. Note to anyone reading: Jekyll & Hyde is not a good place for a serious heart to heart (also not my idea). The out of work actors will insist on putting on their tacky, depressing show, which will drown out any meaningful conversation anyone is trying to have with you. Plus, the Caesar salad is blah.

I twittered. I tried not hard enough and therefore failed to create meaningful relationships or meaning in my life or faith in anything. I finally got around to reading the Watchmen graphic novel (good stuff!). I sat in the sun.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

