Home > Uncategorized > Previously…

Previously…

Looking back, maybe I should have seen the signs. Here are a few selected tweets from the week prior to my stroke:

June 23:
Right after warmup, I felt very dizzy and nauseated, so I lay down on the weight room floor for a few minutes…

June 24:
Quite dizzy for no apparent reason, although the base of my skull is sore. Either attacked by ninjas or suffering a mild brain fever.

June 24:
Perhaps really stiff neck & back muscles are cutting off the blood flow to my brain. GIVE ME A NECK MASSAGE, INTERNET. …damnit.

June 25:
I seem less prone to vertigo today, though the base of my skull is still sore. Perhaps the brain fever has passed.

June 25:
Am having completely irrational notions that I’m about to stroke out and suffer brain damage. But that might actually be good for me.

June 26:
The base of my skull still hurts. Also: sleepy.

June 27:
WHY MY HEAD STILL HURT???

June 28:
Still dizzy. The base of my skull hurts, but only on the left side. Improvement?

June 29:
At the hospital. It WAS a stroke.

Categories: Uncategorized Tags:
  1. July 16, 2012 at 12:05 am

    What the…!? Jesus, Meeses! You had a frickin’ stroke! At the tender age of 25-ish give or take a decade! Is there any permanent damage? Do you find you can now play the violin? I pray in my atheistic way for a full and speedy recovery. Take care of yourself!

    • Meeses
      July 16, 2012 at 9:38 am

      Thank you for the atheistic prayers! My vertebral artery is healing itself as I type, and the uninjured neurons in my medulla are fast compensating for the rest. I’m back at work, and getting better as fast as I can!

  2. August 20, 2012 at 8:40 am

    OMG so scary! Feel better! Do they know what caused it?

    • Meeses
      August 20, 2012 at 10:05 am

      Thanks! I am better. It stemmed from a tear in the lining of my left vertebral artery, which sent a clot to my medulla. The doctors say this sometimes happens spontaneously, but in my case, they suspect shoulder presses. D’OH. Perhaps I’ll take up lazing about and reading novels.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

